Posted by: mick | July 13, 2008

WOH: Day Six

This morning I tackled putting the desk together before we even had breakfast. Jason had to pry me away to get me to eat, and I probably should have waited until I had my coffee before getting started. I finished putting the drawer pulls on, triumphant, when I realized I’d done half of them upside down. Oh well, at least that was a quick fix.

And now, as promised, my new desk/sewing nook:

The color is really tough to photograph; I had to play with the saturation on these photos, and it’s still a cross between the two (at least on my monitor).

You may have noticed that the drawers won’t close. That’s what I get for slathering on the paint too thick. I’ll go over the drawer edges with some fine sandpaper to get them whittled down. Overall, I’m ridiculously pleased with the project’s outcome. I felt like a grown-up doing all of the work myself, and it was really rewarding to see that hard work pay off.

I’ve got to confess that I keep sneaking peeks in the spare room whenever I walk by. After getting the desk in place and the hardware on, I spent a good 45 minutes rearranging my bookshelves so that I’ve got more room. I’m now accumulating sewing and quilting books, as well as knitting books, and things are getting out of hand spatially.

Today’s creativity was a lot of fun. I got my room set up the way I like it, I got a haircut (and am going to be a hair model for my stylist, which sounds much cooler than it is, I’m sure), and then made a crap ton of gazpacho. It’s a go-to recipe that I’ve been using for years, and tonight I doubled it as some friends came over for a knit night. We had a great time, and they just left, which is why I’m posting this a little late. All in all, it was a fantastic way to spend a Saturday. Tomorrow, I think I’m going to fire up the sewing machine. I’m nervous! Marcy, send good sewing vibes my way, please.

Responses

  1. mick, YOU CAN DO IT! good lord, woman, you can do anything. (and you do half of it before coffee. what.) that desk is fabulous. i think i spy your sewing machine atop. i’m 99% sure i’m sewing before 10am tomorrow… maybe we’ll be stitching in time…

  2. Mick, you are too cute! Your desk looks fantastic and I am so sure you will not have a problem sewing.

    How are you doing with your drop spindle?

  3. Oh my goodness, I love your sewing desk so much there aren’t even words! The color is too perfect. Good luck with the sewing!

  4. holy crap in heaven that is the coolest desk EVER. you did an AWESOME JOB

  5. Wow, I LOVE your desk! Particularly the drawer pulls. I’ve always had a fantasy of finding the perfect desk at a thrift store or other cheap place and then painting it up to look fabulous. Until then, I’ll have to live vicariously…

  6. That desk rocks. I need to get my knitting room in better shape . . . totally inspiring.

    And you can’t just drop in words like “hair model” without photos!

    🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

