Posted by: mick | July 3, 2008

My blue heaven

I don’t know what to say about this yarn: it matches my shoes perfectly.  It is the ultimate, bright blue color.  It is cashmere and silk, so soft and luxurious.  It is, hands down, the most expensive yarn I’ve ever bought, but it’s for the wedding so I’m trying to stave off the guilt.  Here it is:

Words cannot express how thrilled I am with this yarn.  I was in NYC visiting KV this weekend, and while wandering in Soho, I walked past the perfect wedding shoes in the most vibrant blue.  The saleswoman asked me to come back in a half hour, and so we headed over to Purl Soho to check things out.  (I saw Joelle Hoverson.  My first knitting celebrity sighting!)  We were oohing and ahhing at the pretty yarn when I spotted this.  It’s Jade Sapphire Silk Cashmere laceweight, in colorway Blue Hawaii.  I purchased 3 hanks, giving me 1200 yards to work with.  This should allow me to cover whichever pattern I decide upon.

After snagging the yarn, we headed to the shoe store, where I nearly fainted from shoe love.  I bought them immediately, and look at this color matching:

The shoe gods and the yarn gods were smiling on me that day.  I wonder if they’re friends?

Now for the tough part: what shawl should I knit?  I’m really torn; at first I wanted to do a round capelet type dealie, but now I want something rectangular to really show off this yarn.  It should have lovely drape knitted up, and I think a rectangular stole will really show that off.  Any suggestions for a really cool rectangular shawl?  I’m going with a very retro, old Hollywood style, so anything that might play that up would be awesome.  I’d love to find something angular and art deco-ish, but I’m open to many suggestions.  I need ideas, knitting friends!

Responses

  1. Oh, wow. That yarn is stunning, and so are the shoes. That’s just the most brilliant blue I’ve ever seen!

    I have two angular rectangular shawls in my Ravelry queue that jumped to mind: Artic Diamonds Stole and Faux Russian Stole.

  2. Delicious, on so many counts. I think the yarn and shoe gods must be one, since they tempt me so very much.

  3. Super perfect match–and I love that shade of blue for wedding purposes!

    I made the Reversible Cabled-Rib Shawl (Rav link) by Lily Chin for my own wedding in 2004. Mine was in Rowan Kidsilk Haze, ivory color.

  4. i am looking at this before I turn in for the night… so it is very possible that I will dream about this amazing blue yarn tonight… ahhhh

  5. Lovely yarn (and shoes)!

    Whitney and Heidi have great suggestions. Other options include Print O’ the Wave Stole, Juno Regina (not completely rectangular, but…), Hanami, and Sarcelle. There are so many great patterns out there!

  6. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! The Lily Chin shawl is divine and would look stunning in that yarn!

  7. My first vote is for the Juno Regina noted above by Octopus Kints, but I also like the Clementine Shawlette, Voyager Lace Stole, and Falling Leaves. I’m a bit bunk with HTML, so sorry for the lack of hyperlinks…all are available for your perusal on Ravelry. It’s such a gorgeous blue–and thank God for perfect shoes! Happy summer to you!

  8. Yay! What great yarn and what great shoes! You should not for a second feel guilty about indulging yourself for your wedding — whatever you knit will become a family heirloom and be wonderful and special forever and ever . . .

    As for the pattern, hellooooo Ravelry . . . I thought of doing the Lily of the Valley or Forest Path for mine, but not sure if either of those fit the bill. I’ll keep an eye out for you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

