Posted by: mick | July 2, 2008

What is swapping, exactly?*

I am officially done with my semester, after last Wednesday, and am officially on summer break.  Today I enjoyed my first of about two months of class-free, teaching-free days in Kalamazoo.  I cleaned the apartment, finished a book that is emphatically not for a class, and did some knitting in front of the TV.  Life is good.

I’ve got a lot of catch-up posts, but first things first: the results of my swap.

Lindsay is one of the first knit-bloggers who I read, and still one of my best blog-buddies.  She’s one of those people that I felt an immediate connection with, and so it seems fitting that we swap some yarn eventually.  She left a message with a plea for my Rowan yarn up for grabs, and in return sent me something equally lovely, and equally purple.

The color here is pretty dead on, at least on my monitor.  This is about two thirds of a cone of Zephyr Wool/Silk laceweight, in a lovely, lilac, silvery purple.  It’s just plain gorgeous.  I’ve used this yarn before, in a silver colorway, as the base yarn for my mother’s Spring Things Shawl.  I loved it then, but as it was held together with some crazy mohair, I didn’t get to experience its full glory.  This cone is the leftover booty from Lindsay’s Peacock Feathers shawl (swoon), and I hope that I can do something equally lovely with it.  Thanks, pal!

I also received my two other skeins of Luscious Single Silk from Blue Moon Fiber Arts, in colorway Sapphire.  I originally wanted colorway algae, but was contacted by the company that there were some problems with the dyeing.  Apparently, orange blobs were showing up.  As I wanted this for my wedding shawl, originally for the Optic Waves Shawl, I didn’t want to settle for anything less than perfection.  I went with the Sapphire, which on the website was an amazing, incredibly saturated, blue with some teal undertones.  Since the first colorway I ordered, Stormy Weather, was dead on when compared to the website photo, imagine my surprise when I received this in the mail:

The color is pretty, but decidedly quite different from the photo on the wesbite.  At this point, it had taken me well over a month to receive the yarn, and I was pretty much done with the whole mess.  I’ve decided to cut my losses and overdye the skein so that it is a more uniform blue, and use it for something else.

I have found, in the meantime, the perfect yarn for a wedding shawl, but that will have to wait for another post.  Please note that these purchases don’t go against my yarn diet pledge: the first is a swap, so not a new purchase, and the second was technically for the wedding, although it will most likely be used for something else altogether at this point.  I’m also currently working on a very destashtastic scarf, so I feel no guilt whatsoever.  I will sleep easily tonight, dreaming of the perfect yarn that I’ve been able to acquire.

*If you get this quote, you win a cookie.  Okay, maybe not a cookie, but my respect?  Does that work?

Responses

  1. That Zephyr is gorgeous!

    I can’t wait to see your wedding shawl yarn!

  2. I can’t wait to see your wedding shawl yarn! That’s really too bad about the Blue Moon Fiber Arts colors. I’m glad you’re going to be able to overdye it and get something more like what you wanted in the first place.

  3. Mmm, pretty yarn! Now you’ve got me interested – where is the quote from??

    As for your honeymoon, I would recommend Wyoming over Colorado any day! I guess it depends what time of year you are going, but I think Wyoming is just a little bit more wild & beautiful. However, if its a “luxury lodge” type thing you are looking for, I’m sure Colorado would fit the bill.

    I just saw you are working on your PhD in Medieval Lit – I have my MA in Art History, and several of my friends went to Kalamazoo each year for the conference. And I’ve always had a special place in my heart for English students, since I think you are kindred souls with Art Historians 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

