Posted by: mick | June 6, 2008

FO: Icarus

Pattern: Icarus Shawl by Miriam Felton

Yarn: The Plucky Knitter Laceweight Merino in colorway “As You Wish”

Needles: Addi Turbo US 4

Started: April 3, 2008; Completed: June 2, 2008

Notes: There’s a reason this shawl is so popular. It’s really great “mindless” knitting; the pattern is very easily memorized, and so it would make a really great first shawl or first lace pattern. It works in a multitude of yarns, I think. I used a variegated merino, but I think it would be just as lovely in a solid mohair or silk. I’m considering making a second one for my cousin to wear in the wedding (What do you think, Den?).

The yarn was lovely to work with. Sarah, as usual, dyed up a really lovely skein. The colors blend perfectly, and the final color reminds me of amber or tiger’s eye. These two stones are my favorites, and so it was impossible for me to spot this yarn back in October and not snatch it up. I wanted to make a shawl for myself, but wasn’t sure what would work well with the variegation. This shawl and yarn are a perfect match; the large strips of stockinette show off the colors perfectly, and the small lace edging doesn’t get lost. I really love the final result.

I had no problems with the pattern, other than my inability to count, which resulted in a minor freakout. I spent three whole nights avoiding the shawl because I was convinced I’d made a major mistake somewhere and needed to frog the entire thing. I eventually sat down, recounted, laughed at my silliness, and immediately put in a lifeline. I didn’t check the note on Ravelry before I started which mentions that the shawl as shown in the magazine (or book) calls for less yardage than it actually uses. I had 900 yards, and didn’t want to risk it, so I went with one fewer repeat of the first chart. I’m glad I did, as I’m sort of short and this size is perfect for me. It will keep my shoulders warm in many a movie theater over the summer, and I plan to use it as a scarf once fall comes, fastened with a gorgeous antique pin J’s mom gave me for Christmas.

This was my first shawl for myself, and definitely won’t be the last. I’m waiting for the yarn for wedding shawls to come in, and as soon as it does, I’ll post about it and start away. I’m not telling which patterns I’ve chosen yet, but I will say that a Clapotis is in my very near future for my maid of honor. What can I say? It appears I’m a bandwagon knitter.

Sorry for the somewhat lackluster photos. It’s been incredibly foggy/sticky/hot/muggy here, which makes for blurry pictures. We went to the Kalamazoo Kings game last night (Thirsty Thursdays, what up) and the sun came out for the first time in a several days. So what did I do? I whipped the shawl, which I had packed for just this possibility, out of my bag and draped it over the back of the bleachers, taking a million photos. They’re not the best detail shots, but the color is the most true there. And so what if the people sitting near us thought I was crazy? It was dollar beer night, so their wits were elsewhere anyway.

Responses

  1. Gorgeous!

  2. Just beautiful … congrats on a job well done!

  3. this is stunning — what a perfect color! Easy to memorize? sold.

  4. Great 1st shawl project!!

    I luv the color, but the name of it even more!!

    Have a wonderful weekend Mick! $1 beer and all! :oD

  5. that’s pretty amazing. high fives lady!

  6. Beautiful!

  7. Oh, wow, that’s gorgeous! The color is amazing.

  8. okay, i want to start knitting again. this is beautiful. i love the color and the wing effect! icarus was always my favorite myth.

  9. Oh, I love it! I was studying the photo at the top of your post and I totally thought “tiger’s eye” too. It looks great on you!

    Congrats on the FO and glad you enjoyed the pattern — I really liked it so I’m happy it worked for you as well.

  10. Love the Princess Bride reference in the yarn’s name! And the shawl is just beautiful x

  11. You made Icarus? It’s gorgeous!!!

  12. Love the FO

    and that last photo is neat–the way the shawl’s shadow shows up at the bottom of the pic makes it seem as if the mythological being has taken flight


Leave a Reply

Categories

