Posted by: mick | March 27, 2008

FO: Garter Stitch Mitts

garter mitts

Pattern: Garter Stitch Mitts by Ysolda Teague (Ravelry link)

Yarn: Noro Kureyon, Colorway 157, exactly one skein

Needles: Addi Turbo US 4

Mods: I fall between the small and larger sizes, so I cast on with a worsted rather than DK yarn and knitted the smallest size. I then added an extra repeat of the main body, and one short row to the wrist section at the end. One of the nice things about the pattern is that it is really easy to customize. Customization sometimes scares me, but this time it worked out great. My main mod other than the repeats/yarn subbing was the bind-off. I love the rustic look of these in Kureyon, and I wanted to play that up with a noticeable seam. I chose to go with a three-needle bind-off rather than the kitchener that is recommended, and I really love the way it turned out. The raised ridge gives the garter mitts asymmetry and interest, and I love the idea of visible seams. I’m kind of obsessed with them after the ridge on my ND de G’s shoulders.

Notes: These might be my favorite FO of all time. It’s still cold and gloomy here, and I’m getting anxious for Spring. I wanted something that would keep my hands warm but not make me feel like I’m bundling up in my winter gear again, and preferably would knit up quickly. I cast on for these Tuesday night, and they were done by Wednesday night. The pattern is delightful, easy to customize, and the construction is really clever.

my weekend in a nutshell

What I’m doing this weekend: tea out of Jason’s Epic Mug (it’s a WOW thing), working on a paper, and vegging out.

The final verdict is that I’m completely obsessed with these mitts. The Kureyon (my love of which is highly documented) once again didn’t let me down; knitting these from side to side and then seaming them really plays up the color runs in the Kureyon. The mitts match, but they aren’t identical by any means. The right one has more purples and some very pale pink, while the left has more greens and browns. I also love my color choice; garter stitch in a nice scratchy wool looks so homemade and rustic to me, and the muted colorway I used really enhances the coziness. I hope my friends are prepared, because I plan to make these for everyone. KV, I’m looking at you.

Head on over to my Flickr for more photos; I went a little nuts. I’ve got the house all to myself today, and the quiet and gloominess is making me a bit loopy, it seems. But, hey, at least my hands are warm.

Responses

  1. I love them! The pattern you chose was so right for the yarn. I have been thinking about making a pair but was unsure as to which pattern to use – I think you may have inspired me in a lot of ways.

    Sorry this is kind of long, but I wanted you to know that I have been reading your blog for a while and your descriptions and stories have come so far. You really are an inspiration to blogging and knitting. Thanks!

  2. They do look nice and rustic! I’ve learned recently that I love the look of garter stitch.

  3. i more than adore these! that seam is stroke of brilliance. plus, i love garter stitch and have been eying this pattern for a while.

    you may have just pushed me over the edge!! to copy you. exactly (just kidding :).

  4. Super cute!

  5. The colours are gorgeous, just right to bring you into the *almost* spring.

  6. Those mitts are just flat out snazzy! I want a pair!!! And, they show off your ring beautifully!

    : )

  7. […] My garter stitch mitts get a lot of use.  I love to wear them in the fall when driving to protect me from the cold, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

