Posted by: mick | March 15, 2008

A bit of a frenzy

I couldn’t think of a title for this post at first, which might be due to the fact that I just woke up.  Our neighbor’s dog was barking for 1.5 hours straight, pretty much right next to our bedroom windows.  I love dogs very much, but recently I’ve been so grateful that we have the comparatively low-maintenance cats instead.  I love puppies and their slobbery, lovey little faces, but I also love that I don’t have to walk my cats or take them out to go potty.  And a meow is much quieter than a bark (well, most of the time.  Patches is pretty damned loud.).  Just don’t think we’re ready for the doggy commitment yet.

Anyhoo, I’m feeling much better than I was last week.  It’s been a very busy week with classes and teaching, but I’ve been buckling down and feeling pretty good about it.  While we haven’t set the date officially, we’ve got one in mind, and I’ve realized that I’ve got a little over a year to lose some serious weight.  This means that I’ve stepped up my workout routines on the bike and weights, and yesterday I tried a Yoga class.  I’m unsure whether Yoga is supposed to kick your butt, or if I’m just really out of shape, but my shoulders are really sore today!  Sore in that delicious, got-a-great-workout way.  I really enjoyed the class, and am going to try and make it a weekly/semi-weekly thing.

So on the knitting front, I have a little bragging to do.  I recently cancelled my subscription to Vogue Knitting (there’s a long story to go with that, which I won’t bore you with here.  Let’s just say that I am NOT a fan of companies using my credit card without my permission) and instead got one for Knit Simple.  (While looking for their website, I just realized they’re part of Vogue Knitting.  I guess my little protest isn’t making much of a point.  I’m a moron.)  So far it’s okay; I’m not in love with a lot of the patterns, but there are always one or two that I really like.  This Spring/Summer Issue, it’s the Lemon Made tee.  I love the little placket, and I love the picot edged cap sleeves.  I’d really like to make it into a cardigan/button-down, and possibly add some darts to accomodate the chestal region.  Of course, I don’t have any summer suitable yarns, and so I went looking online for something cottony and stretchy.

Cue naysayers: “Mick, what about your yarn diet?  Are you going to break it again so soon?”  Fear not, dear readers!  I took the moral high road, and with my incredible will power kept my yarn craving in check.  Instead, I did this:frogged honeymoon

Ah, sweet frogging relief.  Some of you may recognize that as the Cotton Fleece I used for my ill-fated Honeymoon Cami.  I love that pattern, I really do.  Unfortunately, I had some major gauge issues (twice!) and after my first frogging and re-knitting, it was still too large.  Just unflattering and gross, and it’s been sitting on my closet floor since July.  That’s a sad fate for a handknit.  So yesterday, I bit the bullet and faced reality: Self, you’ll never wear that tank top, and you love that yarn too much to let it lie unloved on the closet floor.  So frog I did, and I’m so happy.  Because with that yarn, I’m going to knit the Retro Redux Shrug (Ravelry link) from Lace Style.  So cute!  I’ve been dying to knit something springy and this pattern has always looked so adorable to me.  Plus, it will have the added benefit of camouflaging my sausage arms.  I think it will be great in this color (which I loooooove).  So excited!  I won’t cast-on until I at least finish the back of J’s Engagement Sweater, which is slowly plodding along.  The yarn is so great, as is the pattern, but all that stockinette is sucking my will to live.  Oh, the humanity!

With the new Knitty up, and knits like Yosemite calling for worsted cotton, no knit is safe from frogging.  Superlong Wrap that has been draped over the back of my desk chair since April, I’m looking at you.  Muahahaha.

P.S.  The new Knitty?  So great!  I’ve been saying that I overbought the yarn for J’s sweater, and I’ll have enough leftover to make a vest most likely.  Then I see Honeycomb, an adorable, scoop-necked vest, which calls for the exact same yarn as I’m using.  Coincidence?  I doubt it.   Also, I’ve never in my life wanted to knit leg-warmers.  Until now.

Responses

  1. I’m glad you’re feeling better!

    I agree, the new Knitty is great – I am eying the Lace Ribbon Scarf.

  2. I LOVE those leg warmers! So NOT 80s! Although, I do love the 80s. It is like an up-to-date 80s. Like they did with the 60s. OMG! The 80s are “back in the day” for me. Age showing!

  3. I too am eyeing all my languishing wips for some cotton for Yosemite. I need to be strong and finish something instead of starting a new project! I don’t know if I can be though…what about you?


Leave a Reply

Categories

