Posted by: mick | February 24, 2008

WIP Saturday*: Now with stash enhancement!

So here’s what’s on the needles right now:

figgy pudding wip

The first of my toe-up, plain vanilla socks. I wanted to try some car knitting, so I cast-on 60 stitches on US O’s on our trip last weekend, and it’s going swimmingly. The yarn is Crazy4Dyeing Superwash Merino in colorway Figgy Pudding, which I know looks really Christmasy, but I just don’t care. I’m completely in love with the way the stripes are turning out, to the point that I don’t want to start the heel. Because what if it messes up the stripy goodness? I can’t have that. Oh well, I guess we’ll have to see. These are my “keep in the purse” socks, and I got some work done on them while waiting for class to start, sitting in a meeting, etc. this week. The knitted fabric is deliciously sproingy, and hopefully I’ll finish them before spring arrives.

I’ve also swatched for Jason’s Engagement Sweater (yes, it gets capitalized). I had to go down two needle sizes, as per usual, to get the correct gauge. I knitted two different swatches, and the US 4’s were the clear winners. After washing and blocking the swatch, the gauge is perfect, and my uneven knit/purl gauge looks a bit more balanced. The yarn, Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool, is the most gorgeous shade of brown. It has little bits of orange where the silk didn’t hold the dye as well; it really does look like rust. The color looks wonderful next to Jason’s skin.Jarrett swatch

After getting gauge, I needed to head to the LYS (my first time in almost two months!) to pick up some needles I’d need for the project. I have to say again how much I love the women who work at Stitching Memories. They nabbed me to ask about my Chevron Scarf; apparently, they’d been talking about that pattern today and were very excited I happened to be wearing it. After getting many compliments, the owner, Mary, came over and asked about our wedding plans. She is so genuinely kind, and really cares about her customers. She and Kelly really made us feel welcome when we first moved here, and they put a smile on my face every time I enter the store. So great.

And finally, I couldn’t help myself when I saw the much-coveted Noro Kureyon Sock Yarn on the shelf. They only had one colorway, and I had to nab it before I left. I know, I know, I’m supposed to be abstaining. I’m weak. But look at the pretty! I’m powerless against that kind of color. It’ll make good reward yarn for when I’m done all of the grading I had this weekend.
kureyon sock

And now, I’m off to watch a scary movie with J and get started on his sweater. I’ve found that nothing goes together like knitting and zombies.

* I wrote this post on Saturday evening, but for some reason haven’t been able to post it. WordPress is being really slow and/or not working at all. Hopefully this will be up sometime before the weekend ends.

ETA: Yay! It’s up only 24 hours later!

Responses

  1. What about an after-thought heel, so your stripes are not disturbed? The yarn is awfully pretty.

  2. Ooh, the socks look so nice! I’m so glad it’s working out for you and making nice stripes!


Leave a Reply

Categories

