Posted by: mick | February 21, 2008

FO: Chevron Scarf

chevron scarf

Pattern: Chevron Scarf from Last Minute Knitted Gifts

Yarn: Great Adirondack Yarn Co. Soxie in Kiwi Kenny and KPPPM in colorway 139
Needles: Addi Turbo US 4’s

Began: 1/08; Completed: 2/21/08

Notes: The pattern is clever (my second from this book, and I have no complaints), easily memorized, and it is fun to watch the colors change. They line up differently as the scarf progresses, which is always fun to see. I chose these colors because I wanted something to brighten up my very staid brown winter coat. It’s a very sensible coat for the Michigan winter, but it definitely calls for some much-needed spunk. I chose the green Soxie, which is essentially a semi-solid, and then the KPPPM because it had the exact same green, plus some other very pretty colors like purple, brown, and fuschia. The result is fun, but very stripey. I think if I had it to do over again, I’d choose two KPPPM variegated colorways, rather than use the semi-solid. It’s very bright, very cheerful, and also very stripey. I think it’s pretty psychedelic, and I feel a little like Goldie Hawn in her heyday when I wear it, which is pretty amazing. Sock it to me! (Yes, as was established in my previous post, I’m not well).

chevron blockingThe resulting scarf is incredibly soft around my neck, which is good as I’ve recently discovered that my alpaca scarf gives me a rash. I’m a little too upset by this development to talk about it further. The merino sock yarn is soft alright, soft like fuzzy kittens, but with no claws or teeth or kitten breath. The knitted fabric is light and airy, which gives it great drape, but unfortunately doesn’t allow for much warmth. I think this is a scarf that will get a lot of use as an accessory, rather than a utilitarian piece of the winter wardrobe. Such is life; I guess this means I’ll just have to crack open my copy of Scarf Style and get to work! That is, after I swatch for and start my baby’s engagement sweater. Whoo-hoo!

Responses

  1. Yay!!! You finished your scarf. Good for you. It’s so fun!

  2. I love the bright colors you chose for that scarf!

    (Cute glasses, by the way)

  3. It looks great! What a nice jolt of bright color for dreary winter days.

  4. Beautiful! I think that bright colors should always be worn in winter – otherwise it just gets way too depressing 🙂

  5. the colours are beautiful – it almost feels kike spring!

  6. […] say again how much I love the women who work at Stitching Memories. They nabbed me to ask about my Chevron Scarf; apparently, they’d been talking about that pattern today and were very excited I happened to […]

  7. […] Yarn: Great Adirondack Yarn Company Soxie in Kiwi Kenny, leftover from my Chevron Scarf […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

