Posted by: mick | February 12, 2008

FO: Slouchy (Sample) Springtime Beret

springtime beret fo

Pattern: Slouchy Springtime Beret (Ravelry link) by Little Miss Muffett*

Yarn: The Plucky Knitter DK Weight (Merino/Cashmere blend)

Needles: US 3’s and 4’s

Notes: Sarah, aka The Plucky Knitter, posted a plea for sample knitters for an upcoming show she’s travelling to. I was happy to oblige, and she hooked me up with what is, quite possibly, my new favorite yarn of all-time. The blend is really soft, but still incredibly strong and well-spun. It was a joy to knit with, and the colorway is just plain gorgeous. The purples range from a dark fuschia to a really deep plum, and the variegation didn’t pool one bit. I cannot recommend this yarn enough.

goofball beretSarah mentioned she’d prefer a slouchy hat, and I stumbled upon this pattern on Ravelry. It was a fun, quick knit, and I only modified it slightly. Though I really like the way the seed stitch portions look in the pattern, they weren’t showing off the yarn to its full potential. Sarah’s yarn gets great stitch definiton, which is clear by the lovely cables, but I wanted people to see how gorgeous the colors in her hand-dyes really are. So, my only major mod was to switch the seed stitch portions to stockinette. I think it works, as you can really see the subtle color variations clearly.

I planned on knitting this pattern for myself in a nice solid or semi-solid colorway, but after trying it on I think I won’t. You’re looking at the only half-decent shots out of about a gajillion, and it’s not the fault of the pattern. Apparently, I look like a big old jerk in floppy hats. Oh well, I guess I’ll just have to stick with my Kureyon beanie. I’m very jealous of all of the ladies out there who can pull of the floppy beret, which in my opinion is just about as stylish as it gets in handknits. Alas, I’ll have to save this pattern for gift knits. Le sigh.

* In an odd twist of fate, not only is this yarn producer local to me, but so is the pattern designer. With all the snow and cold, it’s no surprise that two creative fiber mavens would come from around here. So cool!

Responses

  1. The hat is just too perfect for words. Thank you so much!

  2. The hat is so cute, and really does show off the yarn.


Leave a Reply

Categories

