Posted by: mick | December 31, 2007

Knitterly Christmas

So this year, as I’ve been fortunate enough to say every year, Santa was particularly good to me. My Mom wasn’t able to get any time off during Christmas, which was a bummer. However, she was able to come out to Kalamazoo for a week the week before, so we celebrated with her then, and had another Christmas just the two of us (our first as an engaged couple!) on the actual day.

I’ll only detail yarny/fibery gifts here, and there were aplenty. First, from Basia, I received two books: A Gathering of Lace and Knitting Workshop. I’m really excited about both of these. First, I just completed my first lace shawl, and I’m excited to make one for myself. There are some beautiful patterns in the first book, and I’m excited to choose one. I’ll probably knit one for my eventual wedding, but that won’t be for quite a while. We’ll see. The second book is just great. One of my first knitting book purchases was her Knitting Without Tears, and her prose is such a pleasure to read, not to mention chock full of great advice. I want to knit something out of that, stat.

The most exciting thing Basia got me, though, is this:

name tags

I’m not sure why the pic is sideways, but you get the idea. I can’t wait to affix them to the sweaters I knit! It was such a thoughtful, personal gift. I’m thrilled.

My second Christmas was equally yarntastic. My Jason purchased the contents of this photo for me. In case you can’t tell, it contains two gorgeous colorways of KPPPM, which I cannot wait to knit into some pretty socks for myself. The purple I particularly love; it’s semi-solid, dark to light plum-ish purple. Tough to photograph, but so pretty; it will make some lovely, lacy socks. He also got me the pot, and to go with it a starter set of Jacquard acid dyes and four hanks of Knit Picks Bare fingering weight to try it out on. I’m so excited! He didn’t miss any stops, and even got me some rubber gloves to protect my hands (and my new ring, hehe) from the dye. It’s going to be so much fun! Any of you dyeing mavens out there, please give me some tips. I’m not sure if I mix the colors and just dump it in the pot, or do I try and pour different colors on to get a more hand-painted look? I’ll definitely experiment.

dye pot!

So I’ve noticed that many have been looking back on the past year, coming up with knitting resolutions of sorts. I don’t think I’ll do that, at least not the resolution part. I’ve learned so much this past year, and I don’t want to set any major goals for myself. I relax via knitting, and I hope to keep it that way.

Happy New Year, all!

Responses

  1. Ohhh, your first dyeing….what fun! Ask away. I would love to help.

    dimsarah at yahoo dot com

    : )


Leave a Reply

Categories

