Posted by: mick | October 28, 2007

A very Halloweeny* weekend

curious mowLife has been hectic here lately. It’s midterm, which means lots of work and lots of grading. Luckily we took a break long enough to have some seasonal fun this weekend.

Jason’s favorite holiday is Halloween. He gets super into it, and this year is no exception. Two weeks ago we bought some pumpkins, and set about enthusiastically carving them to bits last weekend. Patches was quite intrigued by the process.

jackolanternsShortly after trying the stencils that came with our kits, we abandoned them for freehanding some more traditional faces. Jason whined and complained about the grossness of gutting a pumpkin, but in the end persevered. Our finished results were quite impressive, if I do say so myself.

Jason’s is on the left and mine is on the right. It looks like mine is trying to flirt with his, and his is trying to politely deflect the advances. How awkward.

The carving extravaganza was followed by a failed attempt at toasting pumpkin seeds. They cooked fine, but I got a little over-zealous with the spices. Salty!

henchingThis weekend marked two, count them two, costume parties. For party one, Jason and I were Henchmen 24 and 21. If you’ve ever seen The Venture Brothers, you’ll get it. If you haven’t, do so immediately, as it’s a hilarious show. I was pretty pleased with our costumes, though they were a bit obscure, and apparently I wasn’t the only one. We won “Best Couple’s Costume” at the party! It was all very thrilling, and I’m still glowing from my our win.

mia and vincent

Last night’s costumes were less obscure for most. We went as Mia Wallace and Vincent Vega from Pulp Fiction, and this time I think Jason’s costume worked out better than mine. The main problem is that I failed to achieve the sexy nonchalance of Uma Thurman in that role but, hey, we still had fun.

So that’s that. There are more Halloween photos on my flickr, and they’re pretty entertaining. Not much to report on the knitting front. I’ve been dutifully writing and grading, so I mainly have worked on my sock in between. I went to a meeting of the Zombie Prom Date Knitters last week, which was just as awesome and hilarious as it sounds. Hi to Holly, Jen, Shelly, and Alice, and thanks for making me feel so welcome! I’ll definitely be back, those ladies were great fun.

This week it’s a lot of preparation for my cousin’s wedding, grading/writing/reading, and hoping against hope that we’ll get some trick-or-treaters Wednesday night. If not, I’m sure we’ll find a good use for the fog machine Jason bought…eventually.

* I’d be remiss if I didn’t add a snicker.

Responses

  1. You forgot to mention that my pumpkin is sticking its tongue out… Girls are so icky! GROSS.

  2. Oh My Gosh you have gorgeous eyes! The black hair just brings them out!

  3. Oh my goodness. Your Pulp Fiction costumes are amazing!!! so are the others, although I don’t know what they’re “supposed” to look like. The pumpkins are GREAT!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

