Posted by: mick | October 5, 2007

Change is good

Those of you who know me well know that my hair is always changing.  I’ve never been one to fear chopping it, and I’ve always gone for very drastic changes in length as well as color.

That all changed about a year and a half ago.  I had just finished my MA program and was looking for a “real” job, and suddenly the asymmetrical, black with blue and purple streaks style I loved so much seemed a little too out there.  So I went back to my natural color and started growing my hair out.  It’s been driving me crazy; I just didn’t look like myself.  The long hair with bangs was fine, but just not me.  So that all changed yesterday.

new hair 1 new hair 2 new hair 3 new hair 4

I hacked it all off, and I feel sooooo much better.  The cut I got is really cute, and I’m not sure the million photos I took yesterday did it justice.  It’s hard to photograph your own hair!  It’s fun but still looks healthy, and is very easy to style.  It’s also asymmetrical, which is close to my heart.  The front pieces are long, kind of like Charlize Theron in Aeon Flux, so it’s funky enough for my liking.  Of course, it’s also fun to pretend I look as badass as she does in that movie.  Either way, it’s fun and different, and I feel like me again!

On the knitting front, I started a pair of toe-up socks the other day from my leftover Schaefer Anne.  The yarn is pooling a bit, but I don’t care.  I love the colors, and I really love making socks this way.  I think I’ve found my method!  I used the magic cast-on and it was so amazing.  I was shocked that I got it on the very first try.  I’m going to try a short-row heel, which makes me nervous, but hopefully I’ll find a good tutorial on the web.

Now that it’s October, I’ve been thinking a lot about Christmas.  I’d love to do some serious Christmas knitting, but I’m not sure how much of that will happen.  Here is the list of what I hope to do.  We’ll see how much of it actually comes to fruition.

  • Mom’s Spring Things Shawl–This has been completely frogged.  The mohair is killing me, definitely not a good choice for my first shawl.  To you shawl mavens, will it help if I hold the mohair together with a smoother yarn, or should I start shopping around?  Basia really loved the mohair, so I’d keep it and make something else out of it for her eventually if I can’t use it this time.  I feel bad, but I just can’t get it to work, and I’d never give her something full of mistakes.
  • Pop-Pop’s socks–My Pop-Pop has been feeling lonely, understandably, since my grandmom passed this summer.  They were married over 65 years, and he’s been missing her terribly.  I hate that I’m not closer to take him out to lunch and just hug him more often, and so I’m going to knit him something to let him know how much I love him.  He was quite tickled at the idea of handknit socks, and asked for blue or gray.  I picked up some solid gray Wildfoote the other day, which is perfect, and I want to find a nice, simple, manly pattern.  He’s going to be 96, so nothing flashy.  Pop-Pop is a man of classic style.
  • Aunt Rene’s socks–I told her about these already, so no worries if she happens by here.  They were supposed to be for her birthday in early September, but it never happened with the move.  She doesn’t do frilly, so I’m thinking just simple rib or stockinette.  We’ll see what I come up with.

I have a few other ideas, but I’m not sure I’ll get to them.  Also, those in mind might read this, so I have to be careful.  The pressure to be quiet is tough!

So on the needles right now I have ND de G and my plain vanilla socks.  I realized I have the perfect yarn for Foliage in my stash, and I’m dying to cast on for that, but I’m trying to be good.  I also want to knit myself a cheeky little beret, and I’ve got some Cashmerino which will work.  Argh.  And finally, I ordered the yarn for Endpaper Mitts for myself through Handweavers, and once that comes in I’ll have at least three items on the needles.  Please note that none of these projects are Christmas gifts.  I feel so selfish, but I’m so frustrated with the shawl and haven’t settled on a design for the socks.  Am I a horrible person?  It’s fall, though I know I should be doing gift knitting, I just want to enhance my wardrobe with woolly handknits.  I’ll start that up the Christmas knitting this week, I swear.

Deb and Gil (Jason’ s mom and stepdad) are coming tomorrow and we’re heading to a University of Michigan game.  Can’t wait!  I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

Responses

  1. Your hair looks beautiful, and you should know that I would totally get your Aeon Flux reference. I should also note that Josh would be proud of you making this reference. How I wish you were in PA, I’m sure you two would be so close. I know what you are saying about feeling like yourself. I finally got my hair chopped 2 weeks ago and dyed blue black and I feel like my old self again. Something about long hair just makes you feel frumpy.

    I’m glad to read that you are settling in nicely to your new surroundings. I miss you like crazy, and think about you everyday. Love you!

  2. i think your hair looks great and your knitting is wonderful. i just finished knitting a hat (i am working on my blog and will have pictures on there once i finish some embellishments). i am working on a wrap which is kind of fun because it is in a zig zag pattern. iam trying to knit socks, however, i totally cannot get it together with the dpns. how do i get them to connect. if i can just get them to connect, i know i will not have a problem. can you suggest anything or maybe tell me how?

    also, if you need a simple sock pattern, i just recently purchased one from my lys if you would like to check that out, i would be more than happy to scan it and email it to you.

    as far as your problem with the mohair, i suggest that you do combine it with another type of yarn, perhaps something that is very easy for you to work with and you will definitely have an easier time with it and it may actually be quite enjoyable. you may have to up your needle a size. sorry for the length, i just love to be able to talk to another knitter. good luck and have fun!

  3. Cute hair! Hope you found a good place in town to have it done.


Leave a Reply

Categories

