Posted by: mick | September 14, 2007

Accentuating the positive

Today I was feeling kind of icky.  I think part of it is not sleeping well (it’s a long story, but suffice it to say that our neighbors aren’t the most considerate of undergraduates), and another is feeling kind of lonely.  It’s not that I don’t like Kalamazoo, don’t get me wrong.  It’s just…not home yet.  I know it will take a while, but I’m having a harder time adjusting than I thought I would.

Jason subbed today and it was my day off, so I did some work and knitted to cheer myself up.  I blocked the pocket for Wicked and bound off the bottom, and spent tonight working on the sleeves.  I bought more than enough yarn, according to the pattern, to make the sleeves 3/4 length, but I’m having doubts.  I may run out but, I figure if I do, I’ll rip back and make it a short-sleever.  Then I’ll have enough for a cute hat!

Yes, this cute hat is featured in the new Knitty.  Have you looked at it yet?  Because, let me tell you, it’s a doozy of an issue.  I love pretty much everything in it, which was a welcome change after the dud of the summer issue.  I don’t mean to offend anyone who loved it, it’s just my opinion.  There were some okay patterns in the summer issue, but nothing that I’d knit or that I thought was particularly fantastic.  That’s just me.  However, this issue more than makes up for it!  I wonder if I just prefer fall knitting, which I’m sure is part of it, to summer knitting.  Talk about gorgeous things!  Except for one or two sweaters that just aren’t my style, I think I’d knit/wear every item in this one.  The stole is absolutely breathtaking, the hats are adorable, and the sweaters (including the men’s!) are just fantastic.  Not to mention all of the woolly socks/mitts/scarves/blankets to suit your fall needs.  I’m so excited!  I want to cast on immediately.

Which brings me to my retail therapy.  I must admit that, as much as I love Ravelry, it’s officially the devil.  I spend too much time on there thinking, “Oooh, look at her FO!  Ooooh, she has lots of other cute projects that I should add to my queue!  Ooooh, I should buy more yarn because I don’t have what I want to use for that pattern in my stash!  Ooooh, shiny!”  My queue is now two pages, and I want to knit everything.  I do love to ravel, though.  I’ve met some fun people on there and gotten tons of inspiration for new items to try.

In that vein I treated myself tonight to some yarn and book purchases that I’ve been eying on Knitpicks.  I bought a few books I’ve been wanting that were on sale and enough Andean Silk (I hope) to make myself the Tree Jacket from Zephyr Style.  Yes, I’m just finishing up my second pattern from them, but I just can’t get enough.  Their patterns are cute, fun, and flattering.  As well as fun to knit.  So I got a pretty red yarn and I’m pumped!  I also got two US 0 circs to try socks with.  I just get frustrated knitting socks on dpns (I’ve only done it once), and I’m the loosest knitter ever, so that size seemed like a good one to try.  I’m going to give it a shot.

Ravelry has also inspired me to cast on for about a million new projects, and so has pushed me to finish Wicked.  It’s going well, and the yarn is the softest thing ever.  It’s going to be like wearing baby bunnies, except without the cruelty and grossness.  Mmmmm, bunny fur soft, without the commitment/ick.

Alright, I’m getting punchy.  Happy knitting weekend!

Responses

  1. Aaaaah, I love the Foliage Hat. I printed the pattern as soon as I saw it and I am going to cast on for it this weekend, no-new-projects rule be damned! I just can’t decide if I want to use some yellow Malabrigo worsted in my stash or go and buy some Malabrigo chunky because I like the chunky version of the hat better…

  2. Don’t be lonely . . . your internet friends are out here 🙂 And home is where the heart is . . . so hang on to your guy and together you two will get there.

    I didn’t know the new Knitty was up . . . thanks for spreading the good word!


Leave a Reply

Categories

