Posted by: mick | September 10, 2007

Busy busy week(end)

So last week I started classes. I’m feeling a tiny bit overwhelmed, but I’m trying to stay ahead of my work. I think I can handle it, it’s just that I’m feeling a little rusty after a year off. I do think I’m going to love all of my classes as well as the material, and the class I’m teaching is going to be awesome. So it’s going to be a great first semester!

For the weekend, Jason and I were swamped with plans. Saturday night we went to a welcome back party and met some really fun people in the department. It was great to chat about the area, school, and just life in general. We haven’t gotten out much since we got here, mostly because we didn’t know anyone, and the party was a welcome change. Jason met some guys to watch football with on Sundays, which makes me really happy. I’ve been worried as my schooling was the impetus for our move; I want him to be happy here, too, after making such a big sacrifice especially. He’s such an amazing boyfriend. Le sigh.
comerica park

Sunday we woke up early and boarded a bus with a lot of knitters at Stitching Memories and headed into Detroit for Stitch and Pitch! We had a truly wonderful time. They had raffle prizes on the bus and I won something! This is quite unusual for me. I got to pick from a huge basket of goodies, and I decided on this book. I’ve been wanting to get a Christmas-themed knitting book, and this just came out. I looked through it right away, and though some of the patterns are pretty bad and it contains lots of children’s wear that I won’t knit, I love most of the afghans. It also has some cute ideas for stockings, which is great. Jason and I made our stockings for each other for our first Christmas together, and I’d love to knit him one as well. It really put me in teh Christmas spirit, which starts really early with me. I looooooooove Christmas.

So the game was fun, even though they lost. I broke my meat-fast for the day and had a Chicago style hot-dog and kielbasa (yum!), and it was totally worth the heartburn that followed. We had a lovely time with everyone, and I enjoyed my first trip to Detroit. They gave us a tote bag, which I was expecting, but I wasn’t expecting it to be filled with goodies! Since Jason got one with his ticket, too, I made out like a bandit. I got 10(!) balls of yarn and, though 8 were novelty and the other two were pastel baby acrylics, I can’t complain at all. I’m going to use them as inspiration for some charity knitting, since they’re not my particular style. I didn’t do any knitting at the game; I’m working on a non-bloggable and realize that I need to invest in some smaller needles. I am the world’s loosest knitter, I swear. But overall it was so much fun, and we got lots of stares and chatted with the ladies and a great time was had by all. I’ll leave you with some photo highlights.

roar!

chicago style

Responses

  1. Congrats on the strong start to the term! Yay! Looks like you two are having fun and settling in nicely.

    Are you a vegetarian? I am and I’ve been craving hot dogs like crazy recently . . . those in your photo look sooooo yummy!

  2. I didn’t realize the park the Tigers played in was that nice! Maybe I’ll add it to my list of parks I want to get to (Cleveland, Baltimore, Pittsburgh, Texas, maybe Philly).

    BTW sincere apologies about the Tigers not making the playoffs. I’m from Boston, and was really hoping they would overtake the Yankees. Maybe next year…


Leave a Reply

Categories

