Posted by: mick | August 27, 2007

FO: Rusted Root

rusted root candid

Pattern: Rusted Root from Zephyr Style

Yarn: Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece, Columbine Blossom colorway, approx. 2.75 skeins

Needles: Addi Turbo size 4 and 2

Notes: I really loved this pattern. It was my first experience with a top-down raglan, and I was amazed at how easy it was! It was so much fun trying on the top as I went, which also made it really easy to customize the fit. I followed the pattern pretty strictly, though I had to go down two needle sizes due to the loose knitting. I can’t help it. I also doubled up the waist decreases, and added some doubled increases shortly after, though the pattern doesn’t include them. I read online that there is little waist definition in this pattern, and being a curvy gal that just wouldn’t work on me. I did use the smaller needles for the ribbing as called for in the pattern. I’ve heard that some had problems with this making the edges too tight, but it worked just fine for me. I suggest binding off in one needle size up if you run into this problem. I like the smaller needle for the ribbing; it gives the sleeves the desired poofiness and keeps the bottom ribbing snug and fitted.

rr side viewSo the size fits me perfectly. I guess many would consider this a little too big for me, but I like being able to wear something underneath my sweaters (especially one this lacy. Hello, nurse!), and I don’t like to wear things that are too tight. Especially knitwear; I just think too tight equals not flattering, especially on someone who’s lumpy like me.

I wore the sweater to the fiber festival a while ago, but it was rainy and gross. This photo was taken on the only sunny day during Basia’s visit last week (more on that later), and it was really comfy and cool despite the heat outside. I am obsessed with this pattern, as well as with the finished product. The pattern has enough detail with the lace panel to keep you interested, and the shaping and fit is very easy to customize. The final sweater is my favorite knit to date. I love the subtle sexiness of the lace, and the details in the sleeves add a lot of interest. I plan to wear it during my first day of teaching next week, and I think I’ll get a ton of use out of it through the fall and winter. I’m a big fan of layering.

detail view of rr

So that’s it. I love it, and I highly recommend it even as a first sweater. It looks a lot more complicated than it is, and the top down allows for fit options and ease when it comes to working the sleeves. They’re also quite short, so you don’t get too bored. Not to mention it is a lovely, versatile addition to your wardrobe. Compliments galore. Love it!

Responses

  1. It’s so pretty! You look very happy in it.

  2. Gorgeous! Very flattering.

  3. Lumpy? You are gorgeous and so is the sweater!

  4. that looks sooo good! great job… and i’m will shellssells, no lumps, just curves 🙂

  5. It looks lovely – great colour too!

  6. It looks great!!!!!

  7. Outstanding! I can see why Jason bragged to the knitters at the fiber festival. Well Done. Deb

  8. Lady, that sweater is H-O-T. Wow. I both very impressed and very intimidated. Watch out, undergrads! They will all be in love with you 🙂

  9. Looks great and very flattering! I especially love that color, it looks really nice on you. Great work!

  10. All right, if there are going to be tons of complimentary comments here, I’m going to cash in on my piece of it. Good job, me, on getting Mick to laugh for her picture! (Though it really helps that her smile really brings out the awesome in, well, everything.) =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

