Posted by: mick | August 14, 2007

Welcome back, Coxer.

So we’re in Michigan. It’s been quite the experience (as was the move). I won’t bore you with details of the move, but if you’d like to hear about the hilarity and insanity that ensued, I suggest you hop on over to Jason’s blog for the gory details.

We’ve been here in Kalamazoo for a week, but it seems like longer in some respects. We’ve spent most of our days doing some variation of the following: wake up; shower; clean; unpack; wait for the plumber/electrician; unpack/clean some more; run out for an early dinner because we can’t use our sink; stop at Kohl’s/Target/PetSmart for something random we need; go home to unpack and sleep. It’s been a whirlwind of activity, and I haven’t gotten any knitting done. Well, that’s not true. I did finish the ribbing and weaving in of ends for Rusted Root, and once I block it and do a photo shoot I’ll do an FO post. I’m quite pleased with the results.

Moving across the country, to an entirely new region, has been strange and overwhelming. I’ve been suffering from a bit of culture shock, as I’ve lived in big cities (DC then Boston) for the past eight year of my life. Kalamazoo is a city, yes, but we’re right on the outskirts, in an area decidedly more suburban. The convenience of the chain stores are great for moving, but it will take me a while to get used to the strip mally feel. I’m just not used to hopping in the car when I want to go somewhere.

steak and shakeWe haven’t had much time to explore, as we’ve been chained to the house while our kitchen sink gets fixed (the final touches of which should be done today, we hope), but we have found some pretty cool finds. One of those is Steak and Shake, which is exactly as awesome as it sounds. Our second night here we went, fulfilling a dream Jason’s had for some years now, and got cheap yummy burgers and good milkshakes. It was an overwhelming amount of food, but quite tasty. I’m pretty overwhelmed by my food here. Notice the terrified, deer in the headlights smile. Scary in the really yummy way.

root beer stand

Also, the other day we found an old-fashioned root beer stand by the side of the road for lunch. We sat in the car and the waitress hooked a tray onto our window, and we enjoyed a delicious lunch of frosted mugs filled with homemade root beer and hot dogs. My kind of place. It was so neat! The only thing that could have made it better is if the waitresses were on roller skates.

The electrician just called and is on his way over. I’ve got to run, but I must say before I go that, once I get more acclimated to the area, I think I’m going to love it here. I can’t wait to head to the farmer’s market on Thursday, buy bicycles and hit the trails to Lake Michigan, explore “central city” and really get to know this area. If the kindness of the people here is any indication, I’m going to love calling Kalamazoo my new home.
P.S. Thanks to everyone for your well wishes. I’m sorry I haven’t responded to comments; things are a bit hectic still, but I will respond soon. Thanks in advance!

Responses

  1. Wow . . . my guy is from central IL and he took me to my first Steak-n-Shake a few years back. I had the EXACT same deer-in-the-headlights look on my face as I gulped down a humongous milkshake. It was Oreo. It was delish 🙂

    Glad you’re settling in!

    PS — I love how for you “no knitting” is finishing up a sweater. What is that about?!? It took me the WHOLE summer to finish a pair of simple socks!

  2. Welcome to Kzoo!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

