Posted by: mick | July 25, 2007

And we’re back

I know I haven’t written for a while about knitting, and today I’d like to rectify the situation.

All last week, I knitted feverishly on Rusted Root whenever I wasn’t packing. I got to the waist decreases (which I’m doubling, as it doesn’t seem there was much waist shaping in the original pattern), and I’m still really enjoying the pattern. I’m anxious to get it finished and show it off. Here it is before I left for home last Thursday: Rusted Root

I know that a pile of boxes and my radiator aren’t the most ideal photo background, but it’s what I’ve got to deal with as of late.

Thank you again to everyone who was so kind last week. I ended up having a quiet, relaxing weekend at home with my mother. We got to have some quality time and minimized the running around. I also got to see my Pop-Pop for a nice lunch on Monday. I was a little worried about him after the services on Saturday, but he seems to be holding up relatively well. I felt better leaving for Boston after that.

Also, there is some relatively big news to share. Jason and I leased a car! We’ve been putting off getting one (we’re carless in Boston but will need one in Kalamazoo), but were able to decide. So yesterday we made the haul back to Boston from Philly together, with me driving and Jason keeping me calm during the calamity that is crossing the George Washington Bridge into NYC. Blech. It’s a 2007 Subaru Impreza, and it’s super cute and drives really well. We love it.

Also, yesterday before I left Philly I got my Ravelry invite! I’m just starting to play with it, but my username is Muchadored, so please look me up and say hi! I’m really excited to work on it a bit more (most likely when my apartment cools down a bit and my allergies subside). So that’s my brief update. I plan to do a bit more knitting now that I’m back, and power through the gifts I plan to get done before the big move. It’s hard to believe that two weeks from today we’ll be in/on our way to Michigan!

Responses

  1. The Rusted Root pattern is one I’ve been eyeing for a while — I can’t wait to see how it looks on you when done!

    Glad to see you on Ravelry — it is soooo cool isn’t it?

  2. Hi Mick,
    It has been awhile since I have been on line and couldn’t wait to check you out. Your memories of your gmom left me crying over my keyboard, I’m glad you have such great memories of her.
    As for the hat….I love it too! The vibrance of the colors is awesome, no wonder you have been wearing it around in the heat! It also is probably a great deterent in case someone is thinking about mugging you, who wears a whole hat in the heat….either a crazy person or an incredably talented knitter!
    Gil and I are looking foreward to your visit albeit a short one…we’ll take what we can get! See you soon,
    Love,
    Deb


Leave a Reply

Categories

