Posted by: mick | July 2, 2007

FO: Honorary Irish Camera Case

Here is the first non-wearable item I’ve ever knit.  Coincidentally, it’s also the first item I’ve really designed by myself.  (I’ve made lots of scarves and hats without patterns, but this was the first to go from idea in my head to item.)

camera case

Pattern: My Own (Whoohoo!)

Needles:  Takumi size 6 dpn’s

Yarn: Cascade 220 (missing ballband; very little yarn from leftovers)

Notes:  This was a special gift for my friends Erin and Aaron.  If you read this blog, you’ll  know a bit about them.  Aaron and Jason and I all attended Northeastern together, and we were lucky enough to get to know his girlfriend (now fiance) after she moved up here our second year.  They live right behind us, and we hang out together a few times a week, typically enjoying movies, tv, pinochle, boozing, and philosophical debates peppered with inappropriate humor.  This year Aaron and I applied to PhD programs at the same time, and we all grew closer through our shared trials (and eventual joyous outcomes!) with that arduous process.  Purdue University will be lucky enough to have him in the fall and, while we’ll miss having them so nearby, we couldn’t be happier for them in their new adventure.

Erin, God love her, wants to be Irish.  She loves the culture, and her reddish brown hair and greenish hazel eyes lend her to the nationality quite well.  So in honor of her pseudo-heritage, I made this nice green camera case.  (They got a digital camera recently and have been toting it around in one of Erin’s stray socks.  Being a knitter, I knew I could do better for them).

The pattern is very straightforward.  I basically knit a tube in 2 x 1 ribbing until the desired length, cast off 2/3 of the stitches, and with the other third knit back and forth, decreasing at each end every right side row in garter stitch after about one inch of straight garter.  I then attached a button to the body, made a button loop (yay improvisational knitting!), and stitched the bottom together.  The idea is that, though two hours is not so far away as it could be, they’ll think of me and Jason and all of our good times in Boston whenever they use their camera, and Indianapolis will feel much closer to Kalamazoo.  Or, in the very least, their camera won’t get smashed and Erin will have one more pair of socks.  Take your pick.

On a slightly more random note, my birthday is coming up this week, and I received my first few presents today.  I love giving presents, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t love receiving them too.  There, I said it.  You show me someone who doesn’t like surprises and presents, and I’ll show you a fibber.  Erin and Aaron gave me a lovely set of delicious smelling travel candles for the new apartment, and today I received a card from my aunt and uncle and one from my mom.  She is getting me this, one the of the best gifts I could possibly imagine.   I’ve wanted a papasan chair for as long as I can remember, and I’m not sure why.  Perhaps it’s because my mom’s very cool new-agey friend Judy had one in her apartment when I was a kid.  I remember sitting in that chair with my friend Lauren, while our moms drank wine and did tarot readings in the kitchen, and feeling about as cool as a ten year old could possibly feel.  I’ve been wanting a comfy knitting chair, and the papasan has been a goal forever, but neither could work in our tiny Brighton apartment.  In Kalamazoo, however, our living room is HUGE, and the papasan will be a lovely addition.  Thanks, Basia!  You’re the best!

Responses

  1. Love love LOVE the Pier 1 Papasan . . . I had one when I was a little girl and I used to heap the chair with blankets, crawl underneath, and read for hours in my cozy little nest. After several hours I often ended up with my feet in the air and my head hanging over one side, all pretzeled up.

    You will be so happy with yours!

  2. Happy birthday! I love Papasan chairs and I’ve always wanted one. Unfortunately my apartment is too tiny for one – someday…

    Thanks for the needle tip for the Anne. I have actually decided to make the Shetland Triangle from Wrap Style with it. It’ll be my first charted project and I am a little nervous!


Leave a Reply

Categories

