Posted by: mick | June 29, 2007

Sweet relief

buttons!For those of you not in the Northeast Coastal region, let me tell you: it’s been effing HOT here this week. Three days in a row we well topped ninety degrees, with humidity near 100%. Gross. Add that to a sixth floor apartment with no air conditioning and you get a sticky, grouchy Mickles. Blech. Luckily I had grading to do for two days(I’m now officially done teaching at Northeastern, whoo-hoo!), so I spent some time on campus soaking up their a.c. Keeping cool also took us to one of my LYS’s, where I spent a credit on some yarn for a non-bloggable gift knit. How exciting! My first non-bloggable! To be honest, I could probably blog about it, but I like to delude myself that people actually read what I ramble about. Inspired by all of the button talk going on lately, I decided to spend the rest of the credit on, aptly when you consider the name of the store, buttons. I’ve never knit a cardigan, but I would love to some day, and invested in the most beautiful abalone buttons. I got six, which I hope is enough for a cardigan. They’re sooooo pretty, I want to start knitting something immediately.

Yesterday was a little cooler (read: only got to 90), so I spent the day designing and knitting another, yes, dear reader, another non-bloggable gift! I’m on a roll; I can’t be stopped. It was really exciting to see it go from an idea in my head to a fully functional item, and I’ll post details soon. I’ll give you a hint: it involved dpn’s and was NOT a pair of socks. Exciting stuff. Eventually I want to design something bigger for myself, and this post by Marnie Maclean will definitely help me out. I’ve already bookmarked it for future use. She’s got other great ideas too, and her blog cracks me up, so if you haven’t already be sure to check her out.

I haven’t posted in a while, so here’s a catch-up on all things Mick. Last Saturday we had a girls’ night out at Phoenix Landing, which was lots of fun. I shook my booty until I could take no more, and good times were had by all. I enjoy a good night of dancing, and it’s been a while since I’ve been able to partake, so it was a nice refresher.

boys + bbqSunday we decided the best hangover cure was a day full of BBQ. Jason’s brother came down from Albany last minute, and the three of us headed over to the Phantom Gourmet Barbeque Beach Party. We were so excited, as we love the show and love BBQ, but all three left more than a little disappointed. Tickets cost ten dollars, but the show on Saturday assured us that food would be cheap. Imagine our dismay when a rather lousy pulled pork sandwich from Red Bones (it had the shortest line, and now we know why) cost six bucks. Six bucks! That included nothing, no drink ($3 for a bottled water, in a different line altogether), literally was semi-warm, dry pork on a bun. I don’t like ribs (there’s something about meat on the bone that brings out my ex-veggieness), but Jason and Dave did have better luck after we stood in a considerably longer line (This place was from Philly. Coincidence? I think not!). The ribs were good, sure, but for six it cost them $11 bucks. When you consider we paid $30 between the three of us just to walk in the door, that’s not exactly a great deal. It was really crowded and quite warm, and we didn’t stay very long. I love the guys from the Phantom Gourmet, and so Jason and I took it somewhat personally how misleadingly expensive the outing was. It was great to see Dave, though. We don’t get to visit very often, and I know Jason had a great time spending a whole night playing WOW with his only brother.

honeymoon right side

In knitting news, there has been a lot going on. I completed the front and back right of Honeymoon, as seen here. The color isn’t as bright as the photo, it’s more of a terra cotta.

It’s a little large on me, but we’ll see how it hangs after blocking and both sides are done. I don’t think I’ll lengthen the straps as the pattern calls for, as it’s already pretty cleavage-rific as is. Instead I’ll graft the straps at the top, which may leave me more with a vest-like garment than the cute tank it’s meant to be. It’s ok, though. I think I’ll be happy with it either way. I’ve made a lot of progress on the Old Shale Scarf, but I don’t like how it photographs, so I’ll wait until it’s done and blocking.

So that’s it from up in Boston. Today we cleaned the apartment so we’re not ashamed when Aaron and Erin come over tonight for one last pinochle night. Yes, I knit and play pinochle, I’m an old lady. Shut it. They move out to Indiana on Tuesday, so tonight will most likely be our last night to hang out. It’s going to be strange not having them around, but I’m sure we’ll keep in touch. I hope Jason and I find friends equally as great out in Kalamazoo.

I leave you with a photo of Patches cuddling with her mouse toy. She’s so cute I can’t stand it.

mow and mouse

Responses

  1. very pretty buttons. i too hope to make a cardigan some day…

  2. […] was devastated because we got here two days after RibFest.  He loves his meat-themed festivals, as is well documented.   Kalamazoo is a town fond of the summertime festival.  There has been a Greekfest (we […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

