Posted by: mick | June 6, 2007

First sock mojo

first socks!

FO:

Pattern: My First Socks (by Mick, not by FisherPrice)

Yarn: Lana Grossa Meilenweit Fantasy, Color 4720 (1 skein)

Needles: Takumi US 2 dpn’s

yay for first socks!Notes: I didn’t really use a pattern per se for these. I taught myself how to knit a sock using Kate Atherley’s great article in Knitty, Socks 101. It was really helpful to knit the little baby sock, and after that I felt I should dive right in to ones that fit my own feet. I improvised a bit, and did an inch of 1×1 ribbing at the top, then 2×1 for the leg until it measured five inches total. I was nervous I’d run out of yarn, but I ended up with a TON left over, so next time I’ll make a longer leg. I then did a heel stitch heel and a plain st foot. Kate recommends binding off with 8 stitches left, but I did a kitchener toe at 12 stitches instead. The toes ended up comically pointy, like Dr. Seuss characters’ feet pointy. They look ok on, though, so it’s fine. I think next I’ll try a toe-up pattern (though I’m terrified of short rows; I cast on for Lizard Ridge a while ago and ripped three times before giving up. I just can’t find the wraps! Anyone have any tricks for knitting them?) or a round toe or something a bit different. You can’t really tell in the photos, but the sock on my left foot is a lot baggier than the one on my right. I didn’t mess up my stitch count, and I couldn’t imagine my gauge changed so much, but upon a closer look I realized it did. I remembered that, with the first sock, I worked the foot with the stitches split on a 1-2-1 ratio, and I noticed that it was a little uncomfortable for me to knit that way. So for the second (left foot) I split them evenly across the 3 needles for the foot, and apparently that little bit of comfort gave me a bit of extra ease. It’s not too bad, but the one is a bit looser than the other. I’ve been wearing them all night in triumph, even though it’s 80 degrees here, and I think the difference will be less noticeable in shoes. They’re also a wee bit slouchy, so I might move down a needle size the next time I use this sock yarn to get a firmer fabric. Overall, though, I really love the yarn and the socks! The stripes are so much fun, and I love that it’s machine-washable. I can be itch sensitive, but my feet aren’t at all, so they’re comfy on.

So tonight, after weaving in the ends, I did another row of the Candle Flame scarf, and then ripped it out. I just can’t find any pattern I like enough for that yarn; I think I’ve hit my lace scarf knitting threshold. So instead I found two matching balls of Kureyon in my stash, and cast on a million stitches to make a sideways garter stitch scarf. I never made anything garter stitch, as I taught myself to knit and purl pretty much simultaneously, and I love the look of the Men’s Rustic Scarf from Last Minute Knitted Gifts. So I decided this might replenish my knitting desire. I may do a row of yo’s down the middle just to spice it up, but who knows.

On that note, I can’t wait to cast on for another pair of socks. I’m itching to use the yarn Jason got me for Christmas (Cherry Tree Hill supermarino in colorway Champlain Sunset) and I’m trying to find a pattern to do it justice. I thought about the Crusoe pattern from Knitty, but I’m not sure if the yarn is too dark. Also, I thought it could look beautiful in a pair of Jaywalkers. Has anyone knit either of those patterns and have a preference, or does anyone have any other suggestions? I want something that will hold my attention but not be too overwhelming for a new sock knitter, and that will do the gorgeous yarn justice. I can’t wait!

Responses

  1. Great socks! Congratulations of your first pair. Socks are so much fun to knit and perfect for summertime knitting.

  2. Hey There!

    I googled grandmom–and found you–just wanted to say “hi”-stressing over family bs and just wanting to honor g-mom. see ya sat.

    kim


Leave a Reply

Categories

