Posted by: mick | May 28, 2007

Goats, a wedding, and an FO

I haven’t written in about a week, which is unlike me, I know. It’s been pretty busy around here, though. First off, there has been knitting, and there has been grading of papers. I really love teaching, and I get so much joy out of meeting with my students and discussing their ideas, as well as how to improve their writing as a whole. The only bad part for me is grading. I absolutely abhor it. Maybe it’s the idea of assigning a grade to something that I know my students have worked so hard on that I hate, or maybe it’s that sometimes it’s painfully apparent they haven’t worked at all. Either way, I spent my Memorial Day and the preceding week grading. A lot. I also worked on my sock, however, so it wasn’t all bad.

sock pre-bus

My sock, pre bus ride.

This weekend was Jason’s brother’s wedding up in the Albany area, and he was the best man. We left early Friday morning, took a long bus ride (during which there was sock knitting), and helped out that day in the 92 degree heat on the farm. They really do live on a farm, above a barn, and it was a lot of fun to take a break from the city and see a different kind of life. Here are some photos of the weekend and the wedding:

the bride and groomthe cakeme and the best mandave and caesar

Yes, they have goats. No, I didn’t pet them, though I did feed them some grass over the fence. The big one Dave is scratching, who he named Caesar, has killed all the other male goats. He smelled like shu-shu. Animals can be pretty gross (Jason will mock me for being a city girl when he reads this.) We had a really nice time, and the wedding was beautiful. Amy looked so pretty, Dave’s cake turned out gorgeous and delicious, and I’m so happy for them both. I know Jason is excited to have a new sister-in-law, though she’s felt like a part of his family for a long time now. Congratulations again,my first sock! Dave and Amy!

We headed home exhausted on Sunday after a post-wedding brunch, and just relaxed. On the bus-ride home there was more knitting, more last night, and some today between papers. So here it is, my first completed knitted sock. Sorry the photo is a little blurry. Also, note how pointy the toe is. I followed the directions pretty much exactly, but I’m not sure I like that toe. It’s fine for a first pair, but I may try a short row or round toe for my next pair. Does anyone have any methods they’re particularly fond of? It looks mostly ok on, but off it’s a freakish pointy mess. All in all I’m really proud of it and excited, though. It wasn’t nearly as hard as I thought it would be! Yay for me! I’ll post pattern notes, etc. when I finish the next one (Which, to be honest, might not be for a while, as this week is our anniversary so we’ve got lots of fun planned. Plus, I’m not in any rush. I won’t be needing wool socks for quite some time anyway). I’m thinking about making the second sock start at a different spot so the stripes don’t match up perfectly. Is this a really silly idea? It could keep me from getting bored and suffering from the infamous SSS (second sock syndrome), so we’ll see. Tonight it’s off to bed, and tomorrow I teach, food shop, and start another sock!

Leave a Reply

Categories

