Posted by: mick | May 21, 2007

Victory is mine! Behold, a Tiny Tiny Sock*

I’ve been knitting for about 8 months now. For most of those eight months, I’ve wanted to knit socks. This has some important (read: boring) back story. I’ve always struggled with low self-esteem, especially when it comes to body image. If I were to list the things I’d change about myself physically, I’d have to start another blog full of self-loathing. My feet are the lone exception to this phenomenon. I have cute little feet (size 7’s) that are narrow, with tiny little toes and tiny nail beds. My mom swears my feet still look like baby feet, and she’s kind of right. I can unabashedly say, without hesitation, that I love my feet. They’re cute. And so, I want to accessorize them and pamper them in some hand-knitted goodness.

My attempts thus far have failed miserably. I’ve been looking for a sock class, but haven’t found any. I bought a sock book but, unfortunately, I messed up and got the one without a class sock. Jason bought me a beautiful colorway of Cherry Tree Hill marino sock yarn in Champlain Sunset, and I treasure it. It was a Christmas gift, and I regularly break it out, pet it, and sigh over its beauty. I can picture it on my feet, my toes curling happily in the wool. But I just can’t seem to get it right.

I’ve hit kind of a knitting slump the past few days. I finished up Argosy, was very pleased with the results, but then hit a wall. I tried a few different patterns with my Schaeffer Anne, but keep ripping it back. I thought that this might be due to the abundance of rectangular knitting I’ve done of late. So I rewound the ball of Anne and picked out the yarns for the three gift hats I plan to make. (I did some stash-busting, despite the strong urge to break the knitting boredom with a trip to the yarn store). But this was fruitless as well; I couldn’t even bear to knit a gauge swatch. Then it dawned on me. Perhaps it was the crapload of cold meds in my system, but I realized something: I haven’t knitted anything for myself since Hourglass. And that was finished almost two months ago! I’ve been salivating over patterns for myself, but keep getting side-tracked with the gift knitting. We move in August, and I’ve got one more scarf, three hats, and one as yet undetermined “funky project” to knit for Bostonians we’ll leave behind. Today, staying home sick and cancelling class, I decided to do something for me. I broke out my sock book and got to work.

It did not go well at first. I’ve realized that, with new knitting projects, I need a pattern to be as specific as possible. No directions are too detailed, too obvious. I’m a self-doubter, and I’ll rip back a million times if I think something isn’t right. I worked on making the smallest sock in a simple pattern, but messed up. So after J got home, before my sick-time nap, I looked on knitty and found a sample sock pattern that is really clear and easy. I highly recommend it to any newbie sock knitters. If it’s clear enough for me, it’s gotta be good! Tonight is one of Jason’s WOW nights so, while he played online, I produced this:

tiny sock!

Yippee! It didn’t take too long, and it was a lot of fun. The small scale really kept my attention. I think I need to work on picking up stitches, as I’m sure you’ll notice the ladder effect where I picked them up for the gusset. Any tips on avoiding this? I’m wondering if I did something wrong, or if it’s just a beginner thing. Either way, yay for Mickles! This is so thrilling. I’ve been trying to put the sock on Patches all night, but she is unamused.

So next up, I plan to knit myself an entire pair of real-life socks. I have a skein of Meilenweit Fantasy that I bought a million years ago in what I think are pretty putrid colors. I don’t care, though. I will make plain stockinette socks, they will probably come out sort of wonky, but I will love them just the same. I do solemnly swear.

* This is a reference to my best friend in the entire world’s blog, Tiny Tiny Fun. It’s not knitting related, but it is indeed fun. She is amazing and I miss her terribly, and her blog makes me feel like I’m still in DC rocking with her. Check KV out and send her some love, she’s super awesome.

Responses

  1. it’s beautiful. you should make another and give them as a gift to a new baby. if the slight ladder really bothers you, you can knit it up a bit on the inside. cheers, cosy

  2. aw! I miss you tooooooo. you are super awesome! I get super crazy lost on all this knitting madness. if it doesnt go in a straight line then I am useless. but all your new stuff looks so awesome. you are a knitting machine!


Leave a Reply

Categories

