Posted by: mick | May 20, 2007

Sickly weekend

So it’s been raining here since Wednesday afternoon. I’m actually not minding it, as it’s been pretty cool and I wasn’t ready for the summery heat we had earlier last week. I’ve been sick since yesterday, and I’m starting to wonder what’s been going on with me health-wise. I am one of those annoying people who never gets sick; or at least I was until this year. I’ve had bronchitis twice since December, and countless bouts with head colds/sinus grossness/undefined flu. It’s been so weird, and pretty annoying more than anything else. I’m not a very good patient and don’t like to sit still, so I drive poor Jason nuts. The good news is, however, that I felt well enough to knit yesterday, and knit I did. All day. So I have another FO to show for it! Behold, the FO goodness:

argosy blocking

Pattern: Argosy from Knitty, by Vyvan Neel

Yarn: Noro Silk Garden Lite, Color 2023, 2 skeins (125 mtr/apiece)

Needles: Denise 6’s

Notes: I didn’t really change anything in this pattern (except for the end, where I somehow screwed up. I didn’t notice the uneveness until after weaving in the ends, so I’m just leaving it. I don’t think it will be too noticeable when it’s being worn). I really loved knitting this pattern, after the earlier confusion about casting on. It was smooth sailing, and really easy to memorize, so it made for great knitting while feeling icky. The yarn seems to have softened up after a good soak, as witnessed by the Patches love it is receiving. I really love the finished product, and it was great watching the colors appear in diagonal stripes. Such a clever pattern! This is one of my gift scarves for professors, and this particular one will go to my favorite prof ever and mentor extraordinaire. I hope she likes it.

mow love scarf

Patches loves knitted goods.

Other than the knitting this weekend, it was mostly relaxation. Friday Jason and I went to the Clayroom in Brookline for some pottery goodness. All I could think of was the West Coast answer to “Lazy Sunday,” and was yelling out, “Color Me Mine!” in my head the whole time. J was working on a gift for his brother, and I went along for company. I didn’t have anything particular in mind but, when spotting a duck piggy-bank, inspiration struck. We’re picking it up Tuesday and I’ll be sure to post pics. It was so much fun! I should have done some grading this weekend, as we’ll be out of town next weekend for Jason’s brother’s wedding, but I just didn’t feel well enough. In my experience, sick grading is bad grading. I like to be chipper and refreshed in order to be as fair as possible. We had big plans to go and see Shrek the Third, but it just didn’t happen. We’ll probably head to see it sometime this week, which will most likely mean fewer screaming children in the audience. Here’s hoping.

In blogging news, I’m really starting to enjoy myself. I’ve been playing with my theme all day, and think I finally found one I like. I’m also trying to read more knitblogs, as there are so many people out there with great ideas and insights. It’s such a neat community, and I really enjoy exploring it as I progress as a knitter.

Also, I finished The Time Traveler’s Wife on Friday night after Jason fell asleep. I promptly woke him up upon finishing the last page, crying like a baby and demanding a good cuddle. It was good but, phew, what a tearjerker. I’m excited to have it finshed, because next up are a bunch of short works in the two anthologies they gave me at Kalamazoo. They’re the two textbooks I can choose from for the course I’ll be teaching, and I’m really excited to read through them and make an educated decision for my syllabus. It should keep me busy reading this summer!

Tonight I wound my Schaefer Anne into two balls, and started my next gift scarf. I tried the Montego Bay Scarf in the new IK, but I’m not sure it will work out. It’s a really really simple pattern, and I love the finished product, but I’m just not sure I have it in me to knit something so repetitive right now. I’m suffering from rectangularosis, and I might need to work on a gifty hat or a pair of Fetchings just to break up the monotony. I could, of course, start on Honeymoon (again), but I’m not sure I’m ready to tackle that yet. My heart still hurts after the last try. Le sigh.

Leave a Reply

Categories

