Posted by: mick | April 23, 2007

I’m on vacation!

(The above is said a la Dr. Leo Marvin in What About Bob. Classic.)

So my vacation officially began Friday after work, but it felt real today when I woke up and went for a run rather than heading in to work. Jason and I had a nice weekend celebrating, and the weather has been incredible. On Saturday we got some sandwiches and had a picnic on the grass (or what there is of it) at the Public Garden. It was absolutely packed, as it was the first warm day of the year. We sat on a Sox blanket and relaxed, Jason doing some reading for his next exam and myself vigilantly tackling the last skein for my Superlong Wrap. It ended up getting windy and I was pretty chilly, so I wrapped the wrap around me while I knitted from one end. I’m a genius! We also spent some time watching little kids chase some squirrels around a tree so they could “feed” them, which was really amusing.public garden

It really was a gorgeous day, even though the trees have no leaves yet! Luckily it’s much cooler by the water so we didn’t need the shade. In the foreground is my fabulous knitting bag that I got from Deb and Gil for Christmas. It’s a Hillscape Bag, which they got at a craft fair in upstate NY. I’ve been using it more and more as the weather gets warm, and I am mildly obsessed with it. The fabric is funky and retro looking, and laminated to keep out pesky spills (which are par for the course with me. I’m a messy eater.), and it’s really roomy with pockets and velcro on the inside for needles, cell phone, etc., and the outer pockets are great too. It holds a ton and stays on my shoulders, so I’m a big fan.

Saturday night we primarily lounged, and then Sunday I completed the Superlong Wrap! Here it is blocking:Superlong Blocking 2

It looks like a bowl of whole wheat pasta, mmmm. I tried out the Flora scent from my new Soak Wash trial set, and was really pleased with the results. I’m not into strong perfume smells, especially floral ones, so was a little reluctant to try this. However, once dried the yarn was really soft and smooth, not sticky or stiff as I feared with a no-rinse wash, and the scent is really subtle and clean. This is good, as I can’t take my nose out of the wrap and an allergy attack would make things uncomfortable. So, without further ado, another FO:

Pattern: Superlong Wrap, from Knit To Go knitting cards

Yarn: Blue Sky Organic Cotton, Color 81, 4 skeins (150 yds. each)

Needles: Denise 10s

Notes: I didn’t really change much with this pattern, as it was mostly about mastering yo’s for me. I did add a few repeats on the cast-on row to make it a smidge wider, which may have made it a little shorter, though I can’t say by much. Blocking, the thing barely fit in my living room, so I had to stretch it out on the floor, much to Wiglaf and Patches’ delight. There were no mistakes that I could locate, and it was really simple. Using this yarn, which I absolutely loved, produced an organic looking wrap which should go with my entire summer wardrobe, and will be perfect for stashing in my bag in case of cold restaurants or movie theaters. I’ve never worn a wrap, so it might take some getting used to, but I think overall it’s pretty great. And I’m obsessed with the yarn; it’s incredibly soft and fluffy, which I’m not used to in a cotton yarn. I will definitely be making something else out of this sometime soon. Here it is blocking, in all of its superlongy glory:

Superlong Blocking


Wiglaf was quite curious, but kept away from it for the most part.

So there it is. I’ll be wearing it at Becky’s wedding this weekend, so should have some action shots when we return. The rest of the vacation so far has been spent drinking apricot IPA, lounging around, playing video games, running, seeing Grindhouse, visiting with friends home from India for a bit, and napping. What glorious napping there has been. All in all, it’s been grand. I can’t wait for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Categories

