Posted by: mick | October 31, 2012

Gifties: Part 1

I don’t know if this is true for you, but it seems I’m at the age where everyone I know is having babies.  (A few years ago, everyone I knew was getting married.  Go figure.)  This fills a knitter with glee, of course, and I love plotting for the wee ones that keep entering my life with chubby adorable rapidity.

When one of my favorite couples in the world announced they were expecting, they remained true to themselves and their commitment to non-materialism (Really, English prof?  “Non-materialsm”?  What the heck is the word for that?  Aescetism?) and requested that they not have a shower.  Some friends and family still wanted to send them some small gifts, however, so we decided to send them all to their place, far far away, so they’d arrive on one day.  Surprise present bombardment ftw!

I found out about this a few days before the proposed send date, so I came up with something quick and on the fly.  Knitting, while fun, is not best done when rushing like crazy, at least for me.  You know how people tend to give their baby-in-the-making a cute little name while he/she cooks?  Things like “Rabbit” or “Bean” or “Tadpole”?  Well, our friends started calling the baby Gary, for whatever reason, and it stuck.  It became even more hilarious when they discovered they were having a girl.  Finding this name delightful, I ran to Target for some plain onesies, stopped at Michael’s for some iron-on printables, and did some Google image searches.  The end result:

Yes, that is Gary Busey on a onesie.  It’s not easy finding a photo that captures his Busey-ness and isn’t too scary.  This falls nicely in the middle.  The others are  Gary the Snail and Gary Coleman, respectively.

This project was very quick and provided me, J, and the parents-to-be with lots of laughs.  I’ve been informed that the wee one, now born and being treasured as I type, will enjoy a Gary day a week.  If that doesn’t make a crafter happy, nothing will.

Responses

  1. this made me laugh out loud. i love it. hooray to gary and her family!

  2. This is hilarious!

    I’ve been to a few non-materialist showers where we’re supposed to bring gently used items as gifts and a book to donate. Nice thought, but I’m not too jazzed about being told what to give.

  3. OMG, Mick, those are the best onesies evah! Lucky baby Gary and her Gary-a-day scheme! (I called my sister “Joey” throughout our mom’s pregnancy … too bad my 3-year-old self wasn’t into iron ons.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

