Posted by: mick | October 5, 2012

Sample Knits

The good news is that I got some extra work this fall; the bad side, however, is that I’ve had to take a hiatus from teaching knitting at my LYS.  They were very understanding, but I can’t wait to get back this spring.  In the meantime, I’ve been able to help them with a few shop samples.  I figured I’d post them here since they’re not very well-known patterns, and I loved them!

First up is the Bauhaus Cowl by Antonia Shankland (my project raveled here).  I used two shades of the recommended Madeline Tosh DK (Amber Trinket and Composition Book Gray), and it was a great, easy knit.  The pattern is easy to memorize, and it’s great relaxation knitting.  The cowl is more of an infinity scarf; the FO is nice and long, so you can wrap it around your neck at least twice, and it’s super warm from the stranding.  Love this scarf!

The second sample is Arncott by Jen Arnall-Culliford (Here’s my version).  This hat is fantastic.  I knitted this up in the recommended yarn, Fyberspates Scrumptious 4-pl in Teal, and though it was a little splitty, the FO is worth it.  The stitch definition is absolutely outstanding, and the resulting fabric is soft, vibrant, and extremely soft and comfy.  I’ve got enough yarn leftover to make one of these for myself, and that is definitely going on the docket.

I really love the crown decreases!  This pattern was also rather simple to memorize, which I never thought I’d say about a cable project.  I cabled without a needle, as per usual, with a quick refresher brought to me by Grumperina’s awesome tutorial.

So there they are.  Two cute samples that were really hard to give up.  I’m working on other knitting, too, but my work schedule makes it really tough to get any good knitting time in.  I’ll be back with another FO soon, I promise!  In the meantime, I hope this lovely autumn weather finds you snuggled up someplace warm with a cup of tea and a bunch of wool.

Responses

  1. both of these have me swooning. lovely knits, gorgeous yarn, perfect for fall. (and i’m glad you’re going to make yourself one of those hats — looks GREAT on you.)

  2. So pretty! I love the Bauhaus cowl (and not just because I kinda work on the Bauhaus) … hmm, I wish I had more time for knitting, too. The hat looks fantastic for fall!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

